Utah Cross Country Ski Race Calendar


Dave Hanscom Ski Skating

Below is the schedule for cross country ski races in Utah and vicinity that are popular with local cross country skiers. For more information about cross country ski racing in Utah, check the The Utah Nordic Alliance (TUNA) website, or send email to me at hanscom 'at' cs 'dot' utah 'dot' edu.

The premier Utah events are the five Wasatch Citizens Series races. The series is held at the major cross country ski areas in the Salt Lake vicinity. It consists of two classical technique and three free technique events. There are twenty age groups for each gender, plus recreational/novice classes for both adults and juniors. In addition, there are expert classes for University and US Ski Team skiers and those who enjoy competing with skiers at that level, as well as sit ski classes.

Click on the race name for more information and/or results.

Last update: Feb 7, 2021

07/29/20 - First draft and still preliminary. Let me know about any errors or additional information.

08/02/20 - Added SuperTour in Sun Valley on Dec 11-13.

09/08/20 - White Pine Relay has been cancelled for this year.

10/06/20 - several changes due to Covid considerations

12/09/20 - Sun Valley Regional Race Dec 11-13 cancelled, technique for first 2 WCS races corrected

01/06/21 - Potato Cup moved to Feb 6.

02/07/21 - Added the Soldier Hollow Grand Tour on Feb 21

02/12/21 - Yellowstone Rendezous on Mar 6 changed to 15/30/45 km

2020/2021 Cross Country Ski Event List

date race name technique(distance) location start
CANCELLED White Pine/TUNA Relay 1 lap classic, 2 laps free (3x5k) White Pine
CANCELLED Sun Valley Regional Race - Sun Valley -
Sat,Dec 19 thru Mon,Dec 28 Wasatch Citizens Series free (10k) changed to VIRTUAL moved to Soldier Hollow 10:00
Sat,Jan 2 Wasatch Citizens Series classic (10k) Soldier Hollow 10:00
Sat-Sun,Jan 2-3 Soldier Hollow Regional Race - Soldier Hollow -
Sat,Jan 9 Teton Ridge Classic classic (2/7/14/24k) Grand Targhee 10:00
Sat-Mon,Jan 16-18 Junior Super Qualifier/UU Open - Soldier Hollow -
Sat,Jan 23 Wasatch Citizens Series classic (10k) moved to White Pine 10:00
Sat,Jan 30 Wasatch Citizens Series free (15k) Soldier Hollow 10:00
Sat,Jan 30 Junior Qualifier - Bozeman, MT -
Sun,Jan 31 Junior Qualifier - Bozeman, MT -
Mon-Sun,Feb 1-7 Boulder Mountain Tour free (15/30k) virtual -
Sat,Feb 6 Potato Cup free (5/10/15k) Mink Creek, ID 10:00
Sat,Feb 13 Junior Qualifier - McCall, ID -
Sun,Feb 14 Junior Qualifier - McCall, ID -
Sun,Feb 14 Bryce Canyon Winter Festival Archery Biathlon free (6k) Ruby's Inn 11:00
Mon,Feb 15 Bryce Canyon Winter Festival Ski Race free (10k) Ruby's Inn 9:00
Sat,Feb 20 Wasatch Citizens Series free (20k) White Pine Farm 10:00
Sub,Feb 21 Soldier Hollow Grand Tour free (17/33/50k) Soldier Hollow 9:30
Sat-Sun,Feb 27-28 Wasatch Powder Keg mountaineering Brighton -
Sat,Mar 6 Yellowstone Rendezvous free (15/30/45k) W.Yellowstone, MT 9:00
Sat-Sun,Mar 6-7 IMD Youth/Western Club Championships - Jackson, WY -
Sat,Mar ?? Spring Fling free (7.5k at 9:30, 1.2k sprint relay at 1:00) Solitude Nordic -
** White Pine/TUNA Relay Explanation of Event Scoring and list of Current Handicaps.