Download in PDF format

ICNP, the IEEE International Conference on Network Protocols, is the premier conference covering all aspects of network protocols, including design, analysis, specification, verification, implementation, and performance. ICNP 2011, the 19th ICNP, will be held in Vancouver, Canada, October 17-20, 2011. Papers with significant research contributions to the held of network protocols are solicited for submission. Papers cannot be previously published nor under review by another conference or journal. Papers containing plagiarized material will be subject to the IEEE plagiarism policy and will be rejected without review.

Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

  • * Protocol design, implementation, testing, and analysis
  • * Measurement of protocol performance
  • * Protocols for specific functions, such as routing, congestion control, security,
  •    survivability, and network management
  • * Protocols for wireless, mobile, sensor, mesh networks, cognitive communication,
  •    and white spaces.
  • * Protocols for cloud computing, peer-to-peer systems, emerging distributed systems,
  •    and disruption tolerant networks.

Papers must deal specifically with protocols. Papers on general networking where protocols are only a secondary focus will be considered only if they are of exceptional quality. ICNP will select an accepted full paper for the best paper award.

ICNP 2011 will use a double-blind review process. The identity of authors and referees will not be revealed to each other. To ensure blind reviewing, author names and affiliations should not appear in the paper; bibliographic references should be made in such a way as to preserve author anonymity. Papers should adhere to the IEEE Computer conference paper format (IEEEtran.cls) and should not exceed 10 pages. The font size should be no smaller than 10 pt. At lease one author of an accepted paper is expected to register for the conference and to present the paper at the conference, in order for the paper to appear in the conference proceedings and the IEEE digital library.


Title/Abstract submission: April 15, 2011 11:59 PM EDT
Full paper submission: April 22, 2011 11:59 PM EDT
Notification of acceptance: July 28, 2011
Camera ready version: August 26, 2011 11:59 PM EDT
The advance (discounted)
registration deadline:
Conference: October 17-20, 2011


General Chairs:

Funda Ergun, Simon Fraser University, Canada
Thomas La Porta, Penn State University, USA

Program Chairs:

Sneha Kasera, University of Utah, USA
Baochun Li, University of Toronto, Canada

Advisory Board:

Simon Lam, University of Texas at Austin, USA
Mike T. Liu, Ohio State University, USA
Raymond Miller, University of Maryland, USA

Steering Committee:

Kevin Almeroth, UC Santa Barbara, USA
Ken Calvert, University of Kentucky, USA (Chair)
Sonia Fahmy, Purdue University, USA
Mohamed Gouda, University of Texas, USA
Tim Griffin, University of Cambridge, UK
Teruo Higashino, Osaka University, Japan
David Lee, Ohio State University, USA
K. K. Ramakrishnan, AT&T Labs Research, USA
Krishan Sabnani, Bell Labs, USA